Sign in with
Your question

New laptop

Tags:
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
February 1, 2009 6:11:41 AM

So I just picked up a new laptop for the start of school, and I am pretty excited about it because it has decent hardware, and I got it for about the same price as a netbook! (I got a Compaq Presario CQ60-206us in case anyone is curious). My only real requirements were that it has just enough hardware to play HD video w/o dying, that it had a wireless card so that I could ssh back to my tower at home, and that it could run linux (and be cheap as I am a starving student), and on all those points it certainly meets expectations!

The only hitch seems to be a few Linux issues that I've had along the way... At first, I couldn't get the 64bit version of ubuntu 8.10 installed. Booting the liveCD would cause the entire system to freeze during the boot process. It turns out that this was caused by a problem with the wireless drivers that are on the installation disks for Ubuntu. So, the fix was to use the alternate install disks and at the end of the installation, instead of rebooting immediately, I switched to a different virtual console and edited my /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist and blacklisted all the atheros drivers. I could then boot the system properly. To fix the fact that I couldn't use my wireless card, I downloaded and installed ndiswrapper and the windows driver. This seems to work ok for the most part, but sometimes it is flaky, so I hope they come out with a better native driver soon. The weird part about this driver problem though was that I was able to install the 64bit version of ubuntu 8.10 on my dad's laptop without this problem and we have the exact same wireless adapter (AR5007).