Sign in with
Your question

Linux.Installed = True

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
a b 5 Linux
August 28, 2009 8:09:15 PM

Computer finally came in yesterday, got it assembled and installed Ubuntu 9.04 (starting with something simple for now, just to get to know Linux :)  ). Anyways, I'm just in the process of getting everything setup, install, etc, and I have a few questions.

1.) I'm using a TV as my monitor (this is serving as a part-time HTPC), and it uses a funny resolution. I have a resolution that fits good enough right now, but is it possible to set custom resolutions?
2.) Any programs/applications/whatever that I should install? I'm considering getting Compiz-Fusion just because I like my eye candy, but we'll see about that. All I've really installed so far is VLC.
3.) I'm trying to set up file sharing over my LAN between this rig and my Vista PC, just to transfer all my video files over. How should I go about doing this? I've never done any network file sharing before, so I'm pretty clueless.

Thanks guys :) 

More about : linux installed true

a b 5 Linux
August 28, 2009 8:35:46 PM

Also, one more question I missed :) 

4.) Is it possible to install windows drivers off of the MoBo CD in Ubuntu? It doesn't appear that there are any Linux drivers available.
a b 5 Linux
August 28, 2009 11:02:49 PM

1) What kind of TV are you using and what resolutions is it capable of?

2) Install everything :)  Okay, maybe not everything. mplayer, myth, kdetv, tvtime would be cool to have.

3) You can use samba and sftp with filezilla http://ca.samba.org/samba/docs/man/Samba-HOWTO-Collecti... http://ca.samba.org/samba/docs/man/Samba-Guide/

4) No you don't have to and you shouldn't. Your kernel should have all the drivers you need except for the proprietary VGA and maybe the wifi drivers ( a wired LAN is better ). Windows drivers do not work on Linux ( except for NDISwrapper ).

Good luck :) 
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b 5 Linux