Sign in with
Your question

Accessing Vista/Windows 7 files from Ubuntu

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
September 12, 2009 9:03:35 AM

I've installed Ubuntu (Jaunty) on my laptop, and in the same house there are 2 windows 7 computers, a windows vista computer, and a windows XP computer. Every computer has it's media files shared, and I use my laptop from streaming movies off the desktops in the house. However, both the Windows 7 computers and the Vista computer require an account, domain, and password when I try to connect. This is odd, seeing as how there isn't a computer in the house that's password protected, therefore I can't imagine what I would put in the password field. Nothing seems to work. Any solutions?

P.S.: I'm a college student renting out a house with buddies, not all 5 computers are mine. Thought that might raise some eyebrows.
September 12, 2009 6:58:37 PM

I have a similar setup; I have my Ubuntu rig, my Vista rig, and then my mom's and the 'family' computer run XP. What I ended up doing was installing Samba on my Ubuntu rig, allowing me to start a file sharing 'server' that lets me transfer files.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/236638-50-linux-insta...

Read that thread a bit, it should explain a few things :) 
m
l
October 3, 2009 2:57:56 PM

killerzuchini said:
I've installed Ubuntu (Jaunty) on my laptop, and in the same house there are 2 windows 7 computers, a windows vista computer, and a windows XP computer. Every computer has it's media files shared, and I use my laptop from streaming movies off the desktops in the house. However, both the Windows 7 computers and the Vista computer require an account, domain, and password when I try to connect. This is odd, seeing as how there isn't a computer in the house that's password protected, therefore I can't imagine what I would put in the password field. Nothing seems to work. Any solutions?