Laptops for progamming

G

hi,i am an IT student and i would like to purchase a laptop that is best suited for programming in a variety of languages such as c,c++,java,linux etc.
i am having a budget of Rs30000 to Rs35000(indian currency).
please suggest.

sub mesa

Distinguished
I suggest a linux laptop!

Seriously what kind of advice do you want? If its about the laptop then you placed the topic in the wrong forum; this forum is about Linux and BSD. So what exactly is your question?

The only advice i can give you without any further input, is that laptops may have different hardware configs that don't work well with linux. If possible before you buy insert ubuntu cd and see if sound, video and (wireless) network works with linux on that system.

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
This appears to be in the wrong sections.

If you're interested in Linux, follow Sub Mesa's advice, and grab a live CD or two, and test them out on the laptops before you purchase them.

As for software for programming, Code::Blocks makes a nice program with GUI compatible with Linux and Windows, and gVim is also a highly recommended option.

As for hardware, IMO it doesn't really matter. Unless you're planning to rewrite Windows, or something like that, most any modern hardware will easily cope with the demands of programming.

That's a very good point. We used to have great trouble at work with an Intranet that was developed by people who insisted having the fastest computers available. The result was a system that was a real dog on an average PC and that no-one bothered to use.

hi,i am an IT student and i would like to purchase a laptop that is best suited for programming in a variety of languages such as c,c++,java,linux etc.
i am having a budget of Rs30000 to Rs35000(indian currency).
please suggest.