Smoke: not good. Ideas?

wise

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2004
Well, its my first build, and, being the clumsy person i am, i managed to fail the vaunted Smoke Test. Due to slow reflexes, one of those little black square thingys on my MSI P6N SLI-FI actually caught fire breifly. This was on first powering-up. Why did this happen?
Note: I did not use any case standoffs. The case i have is a really cheap rosewill from newegg.

My only plan is to rma it to newegg.
Also i am worried about my ram (patriot 2x 1gb pc6400). The chip that fried is right next to the ram slots.

Is this possibly due to short with case's tray?
The tray is unmarked, and the back of the motherboard only has slight discoloration underneath this circuit. The top of it is partially vaporized, and partially ashy-white. Any ideas?[/img]

Gh0stDrag0n

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2006
You didn't use any standoffs? 8O :lol: :lol: :lol:
Your "cheap" case should have come with standoffs, always use standoffs.
Your Mobo is fried, hopefully the rest of the componets are ok.
You need to get a new Mobo, install it using standoffs, and test the rest of your componets. If you are lucky the rest of your hardware will be ok, but I kinda' doubt it.
Chalk it up as a hard lesson learned and move on, everyone has to start somewhere. :wink:

wise

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2004
that what these brass thingies are for?
/slaps forehead

they should tell me these things

ty

hope rams not fried too. Thoughts?

Is this possibly due to short with case's tray?

That would be the likely culprit, to answer your question directly. It is a common beginner's error and often results in a fatal shorting of the board.

I did this too, though it was back in 95 on my first full system build. I had actually done a lot of upgrading and repairing and what have you, even to the point of switching out MOBO's in a case, but I had never installed a MOBO in a new case and I just didn't think about the standoffs.

Valdis

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2007