Sign in with
Your question

Copy files to external drive using Linux

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
November 9, 2009 8:14:38 PM

I am unable to access My Documents using Windows XP; however, I can see them when booting through Linux. How do I copy these files to an external hard drive? I have no knowledge of Linux
a b 5 Linux
November 9, 2009 8:19:49 PM

It's really easy. If you boot from Linux, plug in your USB drive you should see a new device (think of it like a drive letter in Windows) appear. You can drag and drop files to this new device.

If you let us know the version of Linux that you are using then we can be more specific in the answer but it's so similar to the way Windows does it I'd say just give it a go.
November 10, 2009 1:16:42 AM

audiovoodoo said:
It's really easy. If you boot from Linux, plug in your USB drive you should see a new device (think of it like a drive letter in Windows) appear. You can drag and drop files to this new device.

If you let us know the version of Linux that you are using then we can be more specific in the answer but it's so similar to the way Windows does it I'd say just give it a go.

I have had a terrible time that started with the w32.ackantta.b@mm virus. I ran the Norton Recovery Tool which appeared to find/delete all risks. When I tried to reboot, I could not get by the Administrator login screen. It wouldn't accept the password. Subsequently, I downloaded Ophcrack to retrieve the password. Although unsuccessful, it allowed me to boot through what I think is Linux (or something similar). The download included PCMan File Manager 0.5. I was so excited because I was able to find "My Documents (especially My Pictures)." I want to transfer them to a Western Digital external hard drive so I can reinstall Windows XP. Do I have to do any kind of formatting to the external drive? I know the Linux language is different -- how might the external drive show up?
Related resources
a b 5 Linux
November 10, 2009 3:00:40 AM