Sign in with
Your question

Install linux without cd, floppy, usb boot, pxe, previous OS

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
November 28, 2009 2:33:44 PM

Hello to everyone,

I am new to linux and I want to move to this system after bad experiences with windows.
I have also a particular problem. An old laptop is probably able to handle just linux at this point of its life.

The cdrom is gone, the bios doesn't have usb boot support, there is no floppy or pxe network boot ability, so I was wondering what other way I can have to install linux on a barebone hd (nothing on it).

The only Idea I had was to copy some files on the hd via a ide cable adapter, connecting the laptop hd to the mobo of a desktop. I did the same in the past to install xp: I used msdos 7 to boot the machine and then launch the xp setup from withing the hd (copied before the installation files).

So my question is, can I do the same with linux? in such case, of course I will have a hd formatted with fat32 to boot in msdos, and what files should I copy on this partition to launch the installation?

If this is not the best path to follow and some guru here can advise me a better way I am looking for his helps. I look on the net but everywhere at least they require a previous operative system on it or some kind of boot support (usb, cdrom, floppy...)

Thanks again
a b 5 Linux
November 28, 2009 3:51:41 PM

What are your full specs?

You ought to be able to install on the desktop from a Linux cd or dvd then move the drive back to the laptop.

Good luck :) 
m
l
November 28, 2009 4:27:00 PM

it's a simple laptop 40gb eide 2.5 hd, 512 mb, pentium 4 2.6gh

so I have a case usb or a eide cable therefore I can connect the hd to a desktop and use it as secondary hd.

should I perform the installation from within windows environment, and select this secondary hd as destination drive?