Sign in with
Your question

Why more than one 12V rail?

Last response: in Components
May 12, 2007 12:20:04 PM

I'm pretty new to PSU's and I've asked for what PSU to use with my graphics card all over the internet and I've found a PSU to use. But my question is now why do most PSU's have 2 or 3 12V rails while others only have one? I've seen PSU's on sale with higher amperage on a single 12V rail than on PSU's with 2 12V rails, so what's the whole point about it?

More about : 12v rail

a b U Graphics card
May 12, 2007 1:34:01 PM

Quote:
I'm pretty new to PSU's and I've asked for what PSU to use with my graphics card all over the internet and I've found a PSU to use. But my question is now why do most PSU's have 2 or 3 12V rails while others only have one? I've seen PSU's on sale with higher amperage on a single 12V rail than on PSU's with 2 12V rails, so what's the whole point about it?

Quote:
I've seen PSU's on sale with higher amperage on a single 12V rail than on PSU's with 2 12V rails, so what's the whole point about it?

With one 12v rail the single rail would have to supply 12v power to the entire computer including the processor. With dual or multiple 12v rails, one 12v rail could be dedicated to the CPU while the remaining multiple rails could supply power to the rest of the system's 12v needs.
Related resources
July 25, 2007 1:47:33 AM

Quote:
With one 12v rail the single rail would have to supply 12v power to the entire computer including the processor. With dual or multiple 12v rails, one 12v rail could be dedicated to the CPU while the remaining multiple rails could supply power to the rest of the system's 12v needs.

im getting Corsair 620 instead of antec truepower trio 650 as most of you guys say its better and i visited a few sites saying IT is Better. my question is, do i have to assign w/c 12v goes to?ie processor/gfx card?something like that or it does its thing on its own...nothing to worry?sorry for the newbie question... :cry:  :cry:  :cry: