Kubuntu 9.10 Netbook Edition

mavanhel

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2009
So, last night I installed this distro onto a USB stick and then booted it on my netbook (ASUS EeePC 1005HA) and it was acting really funny. First off, it was ridiculously slow, and most clicks didn't do anything. Also, quite often the screen just stopped showing things. I'm not sure if this is because I'm running through USB or that something is wrong. I'm fairly new to Linux, so if someone could give me some help with this, or even point me in the direction of a quality tutorial that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Solution
Ahhh.. you might want to do some reading on using EeePC with 9.10. For the 701 you have to use a custom kernel to get things working well. I'm not fully clear if this is an ASUS or Linux issue but it exists non the less. The ubuntu forums have quite a bit of info on this.

http://ubuntuforums.org/

As far as the performance goes did you install install or create a live stick using unetbootin, if the later then it will be slow. First thing to do though is have a search on the ubuntu forums and take it from there. The performance might well be a symptom of the other issues.

Give us a shout if you need more pointers or help.

Keep the faith, it's worth the effort :)

Ahhh.. you might want to do some reading on using EeePC with 9.10. For the 701 you have to use a custom kernel to get things working well. I'm not fully clear if this is an ASUS or Linux issue but it exists non the less. The ubuntu forums have quite a bit of info on this.

http://ubuntuforums.org/

As far as the performance goes did you install install or create a live stick using unetbootin, if the later then it will be slow. First thing to do though is have a search on the ubuntu forums and take it from there. The performance might well be a symptom of the other issues.

Give us a shout if you need more pointers or help.

Keep the faith, it's worth the effort :)

Solution

linux_0

Splendid