Sign in with
Your question

DWA-140 dongle doesn't detect network in Mint 8.0

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
February 2, 2010 4:48:29 PM

Hello,
My DWA-140 does not detect my wireless network with Mint 8.0 even though it detects 10 other networks and works fine in Win7. Any suggestions? I'm completely new to Linux. Thanks in advance.
February 2, 2010 11:34:13 PM

I did some searching and found that the driver should be included in the linux kernal starting with version 2.6.29 (), and that mint 8 uses kernal 2.6.31 so the driver should not be the problem. I'm kinda a linux noob myself so I can't give you too much help but at least I'm running mint 8 myself (works great on an asus 1005ha) so I have the same screen in front of me. Right click on the network icon in the notification area (system tray) and make sure that wireless is enabled. Obvious but something that I know :p  Also, if you have your Access Point set to not broadcast the network name, you will have to manually add the connection in mint with the connect to hidden network option. I'm guessing that this is not the problem though, if you went from 7 networks to 0. Beyond that, I will be watching with interest as more experienced users post, and chiming in with anything else I find out. Have fun with my favorite green distro!
m
l
February 3, 2010 4:57:42 AM

First step is to open a command prompt (as root) and use either lspci or lsusb (depending on interface) to see if the network hardware is being recognised.
m
l
Related resources
February 3, 2010 5:38:42 PM

Hi, just to be clear...I can see about 10 other networks under Linux but not mine. When I boot into Windows I can connect to my network no problem.
m
l
a b 5 Linux
February 3, 2010 5:55:41 PM

If your SSID broadcast is turned off you'll have to manually add it.

If it's not turned off you should turn it off and make sure your encryption's turned on.

Good luck :) 
m
l
a b 5 Linux
February 3, 2010 6:00:00 PM