Upgrading mobo/CPU only :: reinstall OEM XP Pro SP2?

red_onion

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2005
I'm a real newbie who managed to scrape a homebuilt together a couple years ago; the thing works (just followed the directions) but I honestly don't understand everything I did. So shorter words and only non-obscure acronyms in any responses will be helpful. :p

It's time for me to upgrade my CPU, but in order to do so, I'm going to need a new motherboard as well. Everything else is staying basically the same, including the hard drive. I read somewhere that an OEM copy of XP Professional XP2 cannot be put on more than one machine, so I'm worried about whether/how I can do this without plunking down another $130 on a separate copy of XP Pro SP2. I suspect it's not as simple as swapping out the mobo/CPU, holding my breath, and crossing my fingers. It is the "same" machine though, isn't it? I feel like I should be entitled to do this, but that usually doesn't matter.

I've seen similar questions asked a few times already, but I'm not sure whether the OEM nature of the OS makes a difference. Any insight will be appreciated.

G

According to the Microsoft EULA, an OEM copy is tied to the motherboard of the computer it was first installed on. However, if your motherboard dies, you can replace it. (hint, hint) You will probably need to do a Repair installation if not a clean install.

Grumpy

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
Because you Had to replace your mobo, you'll have to activate Windows via the phone. Do the On Line Activation when asked and the phone number will come up. Never had a problem and have Had to replace motherboards any number of times. Make sure your CPU and RAM will work with the new mobo. If you're not sure, give us the mfg/model of your current mobo.

red_onion

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2005