Installing 2 Linux distros on external HDD, how?

DJRWolf

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
I took my brother-in-law's old non working laptop and removed the 60GB HDD from it and put it in an external enclosure. I was wondering if I could connect it to the computer (before powering on) and install Ubuntu and Fedora onto it. The reason for those two flavors are I want to try Ubuntu and a class I'm going to take in the summer about Linux uses Fedora. I've had very little experience wit Linux so any tips, hints, or advice?

Solution
These are the grub config portions you'll need.

The first one's from fedora 12 and the 2nd is from ubuntu 9.04. The lines for ubuntu 9.10 should be similar.

All you've got to do is merge the two.

So you'll end up with this

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg1-root
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=0
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (kernel_version)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-kernel_version ro root=YOUR_ROOT...

linux_0

Splendid
Fedora and Ubuntu both have Live CD versions you can try without installing on your PC.

http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-all

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download

You'll probably want to try Fedora 12 and ubuntu 9.04 desktop, ubuntu 9.10 has some problems.

You'll be able to install onto your 60GB as long as the drive's healthy and your interface type's supported.

What have you got in your rig hardware wise? Please post your full specs.

If you've got a 64bit CPU make sure you get the x86_64 / amd64 ISOs.

You should also check the checksums and digital signatures to make sure your ISOs aren't corrupt and haven't been tampered with.

Make sure you don't use WUBI it's got too many problems.