Linux on a 166 MHz Pentium I ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tulx

Distinguished
May 17, 2009
Hello Tom's ppl!

I have this old (and by "old" I mean "OLD") PC with a Pentium I 166 MHz CPU, 32 MB of RAM and - here it comes - one of the fastest 16 MB GPUs in the universe - the :ouch: Voodoo 3 2k :ouch: . It has some half-broken Win 2k installation now and takes 20 min to boot. I wanted to know it there are any Windows-like versions of Linux that could be handled by this system?
I've no experience with Linux (apart from using it for browsing and printing a couple of times) but consider myself quite IT-pro-efficient in general. It has a CD-ROM and a Floppy drive, for installation. The CD-ROM works for sure, don't know about the Floppy, though. I tried to install a PCI-USB card as well, but failed for hard to explain reasons.

Thank you for your time!

tulx

Distinguished
May 17, 2009
Not much, really - maybe some text processing. It's more of a symbolic thing. There's not much you CAN do with those 166 MHz, really.
Which Linux would be most suitable for this case, then?

You're really pushing the limits there. However you might just be able to do something with DSL:

http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/

You should be able to boot it on a 486DX with 16Mb of RAM but you might find time to make a pot of coffee whilst it does. If you can find some more RAM then get it in there!!

Forget even looking at the mainstream distros. They all need Waaaay more resources than you have.

linux_0

Splendid
It'll run a lot better with 128MB of ram. You'll want to max the ram out if you can.

damnsmalllinux will run on a PI and even on a 486 but you'll need as much ram as you can stuff into it.

It won't be fast but it'll run.

Good luck :)