I did not use standoffs on my mobo - question about this

EonBlueApocolypse

Distinguished
May 13, 2007
Hi and thanks for reading! I just finished putting my new system together and to my delightful surprise it powered on and worked just fine! The reason I find this surprising (besides the fact that its my first build) is that I did not use standoffs under my mobo :eek: . From what I now understand, this was a very dangerous thing to do and could have fried all my parts. Here's the problem: I didn't put the standoffs because when I first tried to use them they put my mobo too high and the rear ports would not line up with the case. Without them though, the rear panel fits perfectly. Now, the thing about my case is that it has little raised areas where the mobo screws go in and I sort of think that might be enough to prevent any unwanted shorts - making standoffs unnecessary. I use an asus p5n-e sli mobo and an Ultra Wizard case. Is it possible that the raised parts on the case are sufficient and I actually don't need standoffs or am I just a total nub?? Thanks again if you read all this :D .

weilin

Distinguished
i think those raised areas you see are standoffs... You see, the most common ones the manufacturer may actually weld them on for you. The extra stand offs you get are for those weird placement ones that vary from board to board. If i get what you did, i think you're fine.

jt001

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2006
i think those raised areas you see are standoffs... You see, the most common ones the manufacturer may actually weld them on for you. The extra stand offs you get are for those weird placement ones that vary from board to board. If i get what you did, i think you're fine.

Yup that's quite common

And trust me, if you needed to use the standoffs but didn't, you'd know it

PCKid777

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2005
Personal Experience: PC WILL FREEZE, LOCKUP, and PERHAPS FRY!!!!