Ubuntu Network

dizital

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010
I am setting up a home network with ubuntu being the server for my network. I currently have it up and running just fine, I have 2 nic cards eth0 and eth1, I'm wanting to use eth0 for the server to connect to the internet directly, and use eth1 to connect to the swith to share the internet and file system of the server, I have setup so far that I do have internet on the server and I have been able to ping my windows machine but I cannot get the windows machine to connect to the server,

i'm brand new to the ubuntu family and this is my first time actually setting up a network with a server and a switch involve.

thanks for all the comments.

I'd agree about putty, but I always install webmin on my *nix systems. It's especially useful with my FreeBSD server which runs headless. (That plus XMing for an XWindow connection and putty for emergencies.)

Webmin does make life easier when configuring DHCP, DNS and firewalls (and lots of other servers as well).

linux_0

Splendid
Webmin is great in the hands of an experienced user but it's also a security threat if it's not totally locked down. :)

There's been a lot of incidents of E.V.I.L peeps targeting open source routers with default passwords and other vulnerabilities as well as webmin and lots of other management tools.

It's always best to drop all incoming connections to webmin, ssh and just about all other services on a router.

Semper Fi :)

dizital

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010
yea i'm looking at getting a netgear wireless vpn/firewall, would the netgear replace my linksys wireless router or would i still need that?

linux_0

Splendid
Linux can be a great VPN and firewall, you'll just have to find a nice Linux and BSD friendly wifi card.

You'll be able to combine wired, wireless, firewall and VPN functions in the same Linux system if that's what you want to do.

Good luck :)

dizital

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010