Home Server, With a Twist (Brainstorming)

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
It all began with reading an article, THIS one to be precise. I've always wanted to build my own case. I've seen plenty of other more complex builds, but something about this one just did it for me. I'm not sure what, but it's inspired me to start working on a project of my own.

Now I'm a student, who is moving this fall, so money is tight to say the least. This is all essentially just me rummaging through my head trying to pull a bunch of ideas into one material object, and I won't be starting on anything for some time. I'm just looking for some input as well as some suggestions as to what I should do.

Here's what I've decided so far:

- [strike]It has to run Linux (duh!).[/strike] The OS must be Open-Source. Most likely Ubuntu or some derivation of BSD.
- It has to be small. [strike]Either Pico-, Nano-, or Mini-ITX. I've found three boards, just trying to decide what features I NEED, and what would be nice to have. Most likely the Flex-ATX board from SuperMicro linked by linux_0.[/strike] Will utilize existing mATX rig.
- It has to be quiet. I don't want what will essentially be a noise box that I have to put up with 24/7.
- It has to be efficient. This isn't something I usually care about, but less power = less heat, and I figure it will make things more interesting.
- It must have A LOT of storage. I have a lot of junk, and I need a place for all that junk to be held. There's only gonna be more and more of it as time goes on.

- Zero peripherals. Must be accessible by SSH/WebMin.
- Will server as some of the following things. Not necessarily all, and not limited to the below listed. :
- DHCP/DNS Server
- Database Server
- Web Server
- Mail Server
- Subversion Server
- Backup Server
- iSCSI Target

Those are the "Must-Have's" for this project. Pretty simple, in my opinion. Now comes the fun stuff.