My first server!

constellanation

Distinguished
May 23, 2010
So I just pulled the plug on buying these parts for my first server
I'm hoping there are no major problems with this as a setup for a server also...

AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor
GIGABYTE GA-MA785GT-UD3H ATX AMD Motherboard
iStarUSA TC-2U/50-80 2U 38dB Quiet 80plus Green Server Power Supply
A-DATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
2 SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Antec Three Hundred Black Computer Case

I'm planning on installing ubuntu server edition 10.04, as you can see i didn't get a cd/dvd burner so I'm hoping I can make an iso on a usb stick using Unetbootin (it worked fine installing ubuntu on my netbook) will I have any troubles doing this on my new set-up?

Second what advice and links can you point me to for this, I'm pretty new to linux and this is the first computer i've ever built.

I'm planning on using this a file server for my pictures and videos, to stream music, host a website, and perhaps make my own email client... and any other cool stuff you can recommend.

Thanks for any advice and help!

edit: one stupid question, do the parts i order usually come with all the necessary cables to build the computer, or do i have to get those separate?

OEM harddrives do not usually come with extra stuff like cables. The motherboard will come with a few SATA, PATA and other accessories.

As for other stuff you will need to experiment and tailor the software to your needs. Read the man/help pages and/or come back if you have questions. Also the ubuntu forums and help pages have ALOT of information so search there too!

Have fun with your new computer!

MarkG

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2004