DualBoot Windows-Fedora (Fed. on external USB HDD)

palwin

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2010
Hi,
looking for help with the problem:
I have Vista installed originally on my PC. No troubles with that. Decided to work with Linux on my project, and ideally for me is not to keep both the OS on the same disc. So I installed Fedora 13 on external USB HDD 500GB. All good so far. Installation finished, doing the reboot and there all the troubles come. I can not boot Fedora from the external.
I can see the external in BIOS (under its original name) as HDD. I can set up the boot order so the first to boot is "Removable dev." No luck booting, just a blank screen.
I`ve tried several configurations installing Fedora, just in case (usually I follow guides on the net, but so often it`s incomplete, missing many informations on dependencies and so... and I am not an expert). Grub installed to the first boot sector, installed to the MBR... no luck booting. When I see the output from fdisk -l I can see there is bootable partition on the external (marked as 83 Linux, it`s 3rd one, the first two are NTFS - just for some storage, no OS there).
I`ve tried using some software as well, like EasyBCD (even the beta version), or GAG, both configured all the possible ways. Usually I can get the boot menu (GRUB) after starting up PC with the menu.lst configured, but can`t boot into Fedora. Mostly it says something like file not found..., or partition not found... depends on the actual configuration at the time as I play around. Maybe important thing is that in the menu.lst there is the HDD marked as hd0,2 after installation and I can`t change that (at least don`t know how since I can`t boot Fedora).
It took me about two weeks already playing around, but I`m still not able to boot Fedora from the external.
I might be missing something somewhere, but can`t help myself any more.
Hope to get some help here. Any ideas?

DJRWolf

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009