Hard drive will not detect in ubuntu 10 04

Alright let me start by saying im a total newb using ubuntu. I've worked on PCs for 7 years now so im pretty familiar with the inner and outer workings of windows but Linux is a different story. This is the second time to install ubuntu on a computer. The first time was smooth but i convinced my girlfriend to use it but now i hit this problem and idk what to do.

Now i have read some about this on other forums but i am clueless what to do with the information. I need a very strait forward way of fixing this.

The computer:
Cheep acer from bestbuy in the vista age
Aspire T180
AMD 4200+ x2
2GB Ram
nVidia Chipset. no option in bios for ahci mode. forced to use raid with single drive setup. will not install xp without floppy sata driver, installs vista/7 np.
160GB Western Digital Caviar Blue (new)
Sata DVD Burner

Now my file server i installed ubuntu on is setup similar, the drive was in raid, sata dvd burner, with no problems although it is running on an intel controller, but this one is being complicated.

Just need someone who can explain this to a microsoft savy person. because this ":~$ sudo dmraid -r
/dev/sdb: pdc, "pdc_bfehaige", mirror, ok, 976562500 sectors, data@ 0" looks like greek to me.

Thanks
Karl
6 answers Last reply
More about hard drive detect ubuntu
  1. Hi, by "will not detect" do you mean unmountable, or you just dont know how to mount it? Furthermore are you just trying to boot from the live cd and mount the windows file system? or trying to install and then it wont see it?
  2. Fakeraid's going to cause all kinds of headaches, why don't ya disable fakeraid and use sata or ide mode instead?

It wouldn't hurt to try updating the bios if there's a new one available from acer with ahci support.

Good luck :)
  3. linux_0 said:
    Fakeraid's going to cause all kinds of headaches, why don't ya disable fakeraid and use sata or ide mode instead?