mafadecay

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2008
I am a professional photographer and rely on a 7in1 card reader to import my photos onto my computer. I mostly use Compact flash, microdrive or other large capacity media cards although have several other media cards various sizes right down to 64MB and have never (until now) had a problem with large capacity. Recently I got a bad virus on my system and needed a large external 500GB hard drive to back all my photos up before formatting. I have 2 x 80GB hard drives and can not risk loosing any data. The backup and restore was going to take too long so I put it aside for the near future when not so busy at work.

I swapped my hard drives out (Stored safely for future use) and installed a new one as a temporary measure running the same XP Pro with SP2 and all updates but my 7in1 card reader does not work. It plugs and plays and shows all drives in my computer. When I insert any card in any slot the light flashes to recognise card detection but when I click on the drive it states "the disk in drive (x) is not formatted do you want to format it now". I select yes but it fails and says "windows was unable to format this disk". I can format them as normal in the camera and on other xp systems using either of my card readers.