Sign in with
Your question

What's the best linux distro for a non expert?

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
Anonymous
August 31, 2010 7:20:25 PM

Hello.
I'm not a first time linux user (set up and used openSUSE 10.3 and 11.1 for about a year) but I'm not an expert either.
I thought of giving linux a try on my second computer (an old one, with a pentium4 1.50 GHz processor overclocked to 1.80 GHz, onboard graphics, and just 256 MB of DDR1 RAM, presently running XP SP2)
Heard a lot about ubuntu. However, from my openSUSE experience, I kind of don't like gnome as much as I like KDE.
Hence, I decided to download kubuntu, it's about 50% done now.
I'd like to know, is kubuntu as friendly as openSUSE to a "not so expert" user?
What're the main differences between kubuntu and openSUSE?
Have I made a good choice? If not, would you experts suggest me a more user friendly linux system that'd run on this low-end computer?
I'm sure I won't get compizz, and I don't want eye-candy, I just need something that's stable and user friendly.
Also, I connect to the internet using a Nokia N97 smartphone (USB cable connection to the computer). Would I be able to use the N97 modem on kubuntu? I just seek a "yes/no" answer to this, I'll start a new thread about "using the N97 modem on kubuntu" if I get a "yes".

More about : linux distro expert

a b 5 Linux
August 31, 2010 7:53:20 PM

Ubuntu and it's derivatives (Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Lubuntu) are an excellent starting point for somebody new to Linux. Linux Mint is worth looking at too, imo; it's based off Ubuntu, and is quite user friendly. Fedora, Mandriva, and PCLinuxOS are all nice as well.