Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Unable to install any Linux distro

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
September 3, 2010 4:22:41 PM

Hey everyone.

I am unable to install any Linux distribution on my Dell Dimension E520. I was able to boot into the live environments of OpenSUSE 11.1 and Lubuntu 9.10 (whatever the latest one is) after disabling all kernel options, but after they go through the installation process they simply blank out and restart the computer in an endless loop.

Google has yielded no results. What could be causing this?

Thanks in advance.
September 3, 2010 11:29:46 PM

Well...once you install the OS nativly on your hard drive, you need to remove your CD in case the system auto-boots into bootable optical media.
September 4, 2010 4:14:00 AM

Thank you for that, but I did just as I always have. I've been messing with Live CDs for over 3 years now. Good to at least have all angles covered.

Have you any other ideas of why this may be occurring?
Related resources
a b 5 Linux
September 4, 2010 6:25:15 AM

I've seen a lot of posts suggesting that you need to add the kernel parameter

aic7xxx=no_probe

when installing on many Dells. Could be worth a try. (Most distributions will give you the option to press a Fn key when booting the install disk to add extra options.)
a b 5 Linux
September 4, 2010 1:47:43 PM

BIOS Updates applied? Might be worth taking a look at the BIOS settings and seeing if anything looks odd.
September 4, 2010 1:58:25 PM

It might be a problem with the actual CD...if you changed the type of discs you use, it can affect installation processes. For example on my OLD laptop, I have to use DVD+R...I can't use DVD-R because it screws up on the install. Now, weather the DVD is either a + or -, isn't the only variable, the company who makes it can also affect it and there can be plenty of other factors. Try different CD, DVDs.
a b 5 Linux
September 4, 2010 2:01:50 PM

Ooohhh.. I like that. Just strange enough that it sounds Dell.