Unusual Vista memory problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

kmcguire07

Distinguished
May 19, 2008
Hi all, this is my first time here, as I am really stuck for a solution. I hope you all can help.
I have got 2 systems at home. Both have a Gigabyte GA-8N-SLI pro MB, pentium D 820 , Geforce 7800GT card and 4 x 1GB of RAM. Both systems have had BIOS flash (F7), and chipsets supports up to 8GB (if OS would be x64).

I installed one system with Vista Home Premium (32bit) with only 2GB installed. After install OS, downloaded and installed all updates incl SP1. Then inserted the additional 2GB. Vista on this system recognizes the 4GB installed (yes I know, while only using 3GB, you can see in msinfo32: physical installed 4GB, blabla).

The other system I installed with Vista Ultimate, SP1 included on DVD (32-bit). Also initially with only 2GB in system, and then after installation, added the other 2GB. With this system Vista only displays 3GB. When looking in msinfo32, the physical installed memory is <<not recognized>>! While BIOS detects 4GB for this sytem.

All BIOS settings are the same. I have gone through 1000nds of threads looking for a solution to this problem, and I am tired of all the "normal" 3GB/4GB issues and discussions encountered. I cannot find one single topic anywhere which seems to correspond with my situation (all others have the pre-SP1 issue or installed SP1 with over 2GB installed, or have BIOS/MB problems, or X64-X86 issues...) Somehow there seems to be a communication problem between my one MB and the Ultimate (SP1 inc), which there is not with my other MB and Home Premium (+SP1 inst afterwards). I have no memory remap option in the BIOS. I have already tried reinstalling the Ultimate PC a few times, but the issue remains. And I cannot try to undo SP1 and reinstall in the Ultimate as it is incorporated in the DVD. The drivers I have used are identicall fo the two systems.

Please, any ideas or feedback on what this could be?