Sign in with
Your question

Any suggestions on my first homebuilt gaming rig? ($800~)

Last response: in Systems
May 16, 2007 5:22:56 AM

I'm a big PC gamer, but I've been doing my gaming on a horrible system for the past several years (it can handle HL2 and WoW, but that's the limit). So, it's time for a new system, and I want to build it myself.

Right now I'm just looking for advice on the parts. I'll probably be coming back for advice on setting it up as well, after going through a ton of guides and stickies on the subject. :D 

My goals for this rig:
Lowish budget, preferably around $700 before OS (I still need to buy XP, which brings it near $800)

Easy for a first-timer to get working, nothing too complicated like overclocking

Upgradability! I don't want to skimp on the PSU/Mobo/Case/etc. If I want to upgrade the CPU/RAM/GPU in the future, I want to be able to just buy it and stick it in and be done.
Here's what I'm thinking so far (open to suggestions on everything). All prices/descriptions from Newegg:

Mobo:
ASUS M2N4-SLI Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
$86.99

Looking for lots of suggestions on this, I don't know much about mobos. :) 

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+(65W) Windsor 2.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADO3800CUBOX - Retail
$76.00

I'm thinking this is all I need, but I'd be willing to go a bit overbudget for a better CPU if a 3800+ is going to be a bottleneck in games with my GPU.

GPU:
SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 VIVO HDCP Video Card - Retail
$189.99 (before a $20 mail-in rebate)

This is about the performance level I'm looking for. Should I maybe splurge for a 8800GTS? Are there any video cards on the horizon in the 180-280 price range I should wait for? Anything around the price of the X1950 XT that beats it in performance? This is the most important part of my rig so I want to get it right.

RAM: