How to dual boot and get ubuntu 10.10 on D: drive

Cyrixx

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2010
So I'm running Win7 Home Premium on my C: and I read somewhere that it is advisable to install on a seperate HD so I a empty D: I'd like to experiment with Ubuntu 10.10. This is my first time with a Linux OS. Got the CD ISO made. Do I need to find a free program so when I boot it asks what OS I want to run....either Win 7 or Ubuntu? How do I get Ubuntu to install on D: because messin' around a bit it looked like it wanted to go to c:..period. Any help would be great.

Cyrixx

PS...my system is a 64bit but I chose the recommended 32bit linux OS. I hope that's correct. Running AMD Phenom II BE 720 X3 o/c to 3.4Ghz w/ 8GB Ram with a Gigabyte mobo and 2 ATi 5770 vid cards bridged.

You chose the wrong OS, IMO. With that setup I'd go for the 64-bit version.

As for booting, Linux will install a boot loader which should recognize the Windows installation and set up a boot menu. There should be no problem in chosing which drive to install on.

BTW, do you have a Windows install disk? It's just possible that you might need it if anything goes wrong. If you are not entirely happy about this sort of installation running in a virtual machine is a safer option.

Cyrixx

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2010

Thank you for taking time to help. I will re- download the 64bit version tomorrow and give it a go. Is it smart to install on a separate HD than Windows? What seems to be the attraction of Ubuntu/Linux besides being free vs. Windows 7/Vista? I'll assume more secure security wise vs Windows?

Cyrixx