Sign in with
Your question

Ubuntu/Windows XP issue

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
February 11, 2011 2:53:30 PM

I have an older PC, okay very old PC. It has Ubuntu on it. It had not been turned on in years and had a lot of updates. Once I did that, it got messed up and would not work again. It now has an error of sorts (it's not turned on so I'm not sure what it is, can provide later if needed). I would like to put a basic copy of windows xp on it so I can use the PC for the kids and for netflix to the TV, and to hook up the Nintendo DS's. If I put any disk in the cdrom, it doesn't do anything. I even tried to put old Ubuntu in to revert back to when it was working. I have very little knowledge of Ubuntu an old friend that I no longer am in contact with used to help me and was teaching me. NOW if the issue is fixable and will still let me do all the things I want to do, I don't have a problem keep the Ubuntu on there as you get many great games for kids. If possible could I get an alert via email that there is a response to my posting? Thanks in advance for everything!

More about : ubuntu windows issue

February 11, 2011 9:16:49 PM

I would help others to keep this in the forums.
hardware? Look at n=motherboard and there should be alphanumeric identification.
year of ubuntu or version, if remebered?
what happens when you hit delete or other key to get into the BIOS?
February 16, 2011 7:21:06 PM

I have a cd with 7.04, that is probably what was on there before the update, or it could have been even before that version. What is n=motherboard? I just turned old PC on and it now says disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter. If I put the 7.04 disk in and press enter nothing happens.
Related resources
February 16, 2011 7:22:48 PM

I forgot second half of what you posted. I can hit delete and it will take me to the bios.
February 16, 2011 11:07:05 PM