A noob to wireless internet.

hello, I must first say that I have very limited knowledge about wireless internet setups. All I know about setting up a wireless internet is that you need a wireless router (of course) and wireless adapters on the computer/s.

Here's my situation.
I currently have two desktops in two seperate rooms that are currently hooked up using a modem-switch (it was free)- and then running LAN cables from the switch to both computers. I have no problems with this setup and would like to keep the cables. However, soon I will be getting a laptop and want to use it all over my house and maybe outside. This is why I want to eventually get a wireless setup. I would still like to have my LAN cables on the two desktops, but I am not sure how i can set that up with a wireless router.
DO wireless routers allow for multiple LAN cables attached to them and still run the internet through the wireless too?
(Obviously, I am a noob :)

Also, what kind of wireless router should I be looking for? (considering range, speed is not necessary since I do not really want a network) And what do I need for security?

thank you and please feel free to ask for any more information/clarification
(I like constructive criticism)
T.
7 answers Last reply
More about noob wireless internet
  1. rabidbunny said:
    hello, I must first say that I have very limited knowledge about wireless internet setups. All I know about setting up a wireless internet is that you need a wireless router (of course) and wireless adapters on the computer/s.

Here's my situation.