Sign in with
Your question

Wireless LAN without net access

Last response: in Wireless Networking
July 24, 2007 2:09:09 PM

I have this netgear wireless router
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
My question is how can i create a wireless LAN for me and my next door friends to play LAN games without the need for an internet access.all the documentatin i have read abt the router require u to have a cable or dsl connection.
my dsl is disconnected for a few months and i am relying only on dial up. how do i put this router to use wothout a net connection.
P.S. i am a complete beginner when it comes to networking!!!
July 24, 2007 2:17:47 PM

schumi_thelegend said:
I have this netgear wireless router
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
My question is how can i create a wireless LAN for me and my next door friends to play LAN games without the need for an internet access.all the documentatin i have read abt the router require u to have a cable or dsl connection.
my dsl is disconnected for a few months and i am relying only on dial up. how do i put this router to use wothout a net connection.
P.S. i am a complete beginner when it comes to networking!!!

Give AT&T a call and explain you have a router and have figured out you can't use it without a net connection and would like to purchase one of their high speed connection packages.
July 24, 2007 4:53:49 PM

so u mean a net connection is compulsory for wireless networking???
Related resources
July 25, 2007 6:22:32 AM

what if i wanted to check the routers range and connectivity with my friend b4 buying a net connection. is it possible???
Anonymous
July 25, 2007 12:12:00 PM

You don't need an Internet connection to connect 2 computers. Just connect your PC to one of the LAN ports and have your friend look for the Wireless Network.

Grumpy
July 25, 2007 2:52:29 PM