Sign in with
Your question

Linux Vs AIX

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
April 4, 2011 8:41:50 AM

Dear All ,

I'm new to this thread and I'm thanking lord that there are such helpful experts who valunteer to assist each others .

My query is that I want to have Unix AIX at home but can't easily get the hardware and all ,thus I decided to have linux rather than that ,where I wonder which linux/Unix can be very close to AIX in terms of structure and commands usage .

Many thanks .

Baash .

More about : linux aix

April 4, 2011 8:45:09 AM

baash said:
Dear All ,

I'm new to this thread and I'm thanking lord that there are such helpful experts who valunteer to assist each others .

My query is that I want to have Unix AIX at home but can't easily get the hardware and all ,thus I decided to have linux rather than that ,where I wonder which open source linux/Unix can be very close to AIX in terms of structure and commands usage .

Many thanks .

Baash .

April 4, 2011 8:52:30 AM

baash said:
Dear All ,

My query is that I want to have Unix AIX at home but can't easily get the hardware and all ,thus I decided to have linux rather than that ,where I wonder which open source linux/Unix can be very close to AIX in terms of structure and commands usage .

Many thanks .

Baash .

Related resources
a b 5 Linux
April 4, 2011 9:00:47 AM

Why, in particular, did you pick AIX? What features of AIX are the ones that are important to you? Although all Unix-type operating systems are broadly similar in concept and commands, they do differ in detail.

It may be that the OS that most suits your requirements would be Solaris, or one of the FreeBSDs; it may be one of the many Linux distros. But without knowing what your requirements are it's difficult to be more specific.

Anyway, have a look at all of those and decide for yourself which OS is closest to the particulars of AIX that matter to you.
April 4, 2011 11:19:31 AM