Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit Crashes

pyronumba1

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2008
Hey, I have just recently built a computer with the nvidia 680i sli motherboard, q6600 2.4ghz processor, and it is a liquid cooling system with a 8500 geforce video card loaded with Windows Vista 64bit. I am using the PC6400 DDR2 OCZ SLI-Ready 2gb x 4 sticks

I have installed Windows Vista 64bit with 2gb of ram (1stick) and everytime I sign into windows, after a minute or two, it will just freeze and the only thing i can do it is use the power button to turn it off. I am new to this but am wondering what is the problem and how to get the rest of the ram to work with a total of 8gb running.

Please if anyone has the same problem or know the solution as to what I can do, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I have installed Windows Vista 64bit with 2gb of ram (1stick) and everytime I sign into windows, after a minute or two, it will just freeze and the only thing i can do it is use the power button to turn it off.

To clarify, 1 stick or all 4 when the system crashes?

Assuming 1 stick for the moment - be sure it is set to mfg spec voltage in the BIOS. If you need more help on finding this setting let us know. It will be in BIOS setup somewhere, but it's a little different with different BIOS/MPBOs.

Get 1 stick stable then add the extra ram later.

That chipset (nvidia 680i) IIRC sometimes needs a small voltage increase on the Northbridge.

Freezing shortly after booting can also be a heat problem - did you get all the air out of your lines? Have you checked your temps?

pyronumba1

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2008
I am using one 2GB stick just to install vista and run. I have not yet put the others in until this problem is fully resolved.

How do I know if my mb is in mfg spec voltage and if so, how do i change the voltage. Sorry, I am a newbie at this but at the same time kind of know what im doing.

How may i increase the voltage?