Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help Understanding Linux

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
April 13, 2011 2:57:07 AM

Hello fellow internetz! I have a question that I'm hoping might have a reply that has enough information to answer all of my questions...

Essentially I recently built a gaming rig, but I may be taking it off to MIT or Stanford for a week or two for a game dev team. I hear Linux is a good OS for programming and I figured why not boot up with either Win7 or Linux... Basically just wondering what version of Linux should I get (L1NUX N00B), mostly for making games and testing.

I asked what version since I don't know if there is a better version of Linux out there, as I said I am a complete noob to this OS.

More about : understanding linux

April 13, 2011 3:20:14 AM

I like Ubuntu for a generally easy to use Linux, but you can add developer tools to any Linux distribution and program in just about any language you want.
m
l

Best solution

a b 5 Linux
April 13, 2011 3:21:35 AM

One distro is not necessarily better than any other! The linux kernel is mostly the same throughout distrobutions. The main differences you will encounter are:
1.) Default desktop. Gnome, KDE, XFCE, LXDE... etc..
2.) Package Management.
3.) drivers already compiled into kernel.

Distros you may want to start with: Ubuntu, Mint, or Fedora. These (and their derivatives) are probably the easiest to get start with.
Related resources
April 13, 2011 3:23:54 AM

Okay I sorta am at a loss... I know these names but what do they mean to me. Like which ones are easy to start with and which will be the most compatible for a secondary boot going against win7, or is that not compatible with Linux?
m
l
a b 5 Linux
April 13, 2011 6:12:04 AM