Help Understanding Linux

albinoshadow

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2010
Hello fellow internetz! I have a question that I'm hoping might have a reply that has enough information to answer all of my questions...

Essentially I recently built a gaming rig, but I may be taking it off to MIT or Stanford for a week or two for a game dev team. I hear Linux is a good OS for programming and I figured why not boot up with either Win7 or Linux... Basically just wondering what version of Linux should I get (L1NUX N00B), mostly for making games and testing.

I asked what version since I don't know if there is a better version of Linux out there, as I said I am a complete noob to this OS.

Solution
One distro is not necessarily better than any other! The linux kernel is mostly the same throughout distrobutions. The main differences you will encounter are:
1.) Default desktop. Gnome, KDE, XFCE, LXDE... etc..
2.) Package Management.
3.) drivers already compiled into kernel.

Distros you may want to start with: Ubuntu, Mint, or Fedora. These (and their derivatives) are probably the easiest to get start with.
One distro is not necessarily better than any other! The linux kernel is mostly the same throughout distrobutions. The main differences you will encounter are:
1.) Default desktop. Gnome, KDE, XFCE, LXDE... etc..
2.) Package Management.
3.) drivers already compiled into kernel.

Distros you may want to start with: Ubuntu, Mint, or Fedora. These (and their derivatives) are probably the easiest to get start with.

Solution

albinoshadow

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2010
Okay I sorta am at a loss... I know these names but what do they mean to me. Like which ones are easy to start with and which will be the most compatible for a secondary boot going against win7, or is that not compatible with Linux?