Sign in with
Your question

Partitions and boot menu

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
June 19, 2011 9:21:57 AM

Hey people, I'm new to Linux and wanting to partition up an old disk to install several distributions, one to each partition. What's the best of doing this? Will I be OK using Ubuntu's install process to format ext4 and create the partitions or would it be better to use Partition Magic?

Also, is it possible to then do a user-created boot menu? I remember in the past when I had more than one version of Windows installed, a boot menu was automatically generated... would like one for Windows and then each Linux distro.

And the other thing is, my keyboard doesn't seem to work during boot! It's fine for getting into BIOS and works fine when Windows boots, but not inbetween. On the 'Windows did not boot properly...' menu, I'm never able to navigate to other options so have to wait for the countdown. It's a Microsoft Digital Media Pro keyboard on a Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R. Thanks in advance for the help people!

More about : partitions boot menu

June 19, 2011 4:55:40 PM

You should be fine just using the included partitioner for each distribution. You can allocate how much space you want each partition to use manually. I'm also fairly certain you can just use the same /swap partition for each installation.

Grub can be configured, by modifying the /boot/grub/grub.cfg file. It will automatically generate an entry for each additional OS installed however, assuming the final installation you do includes grub. Windows should be installed first to avoid headaches.
m
l
June 19, 2011 10:26:32 PM

Well Windows will be on a separate drive, so this one will be pure Linux. So I can safely assume that every distribution will include a partitioner in the installation and Grub? I was planning on using Ubuntu, Debian, Mint, Fedora, OpenSUSE and Slackware, maybe Gentoo at a later date.
m
l
Related resources
June 19, 2011 11:42:54 PM