Sign in with
Your question

Hey need a lil help!!!<----

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 19, 2007 5:38:11 AM

Hello to all!!!

New products: Well get these items for free from my friend.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz
GIGABYTE GA-M55SLI-S4 Socket AM2
New Case
New PSU (500W)(24AMP)
Still keeping ATI 800<-->will upgrade-hate it! :) 

Replacing:
Intel 2.8 LGA775
Crappy Dell motherboard
Dell Case
PSU
Western Digital Caviar RE WD1600YS <--> Keeping this.

So I am new at this and I have been reading how to set-up a DIY PC but as soon as I get these new products in, I might be lost on what the hell to do. Hopefully all of yall will be here to help me out if I get lost in the near future.

Anyway I would like to know if I change these items from my old DELL with the new items, Do I need to change anything on my hard-drive (Install Windows Again)? Can I uninstall everything that DELL put in my system after I put the new MB in?

Plus, send me some links on DIY for updated PC's, so I can read more about them. Still dont have a clue about BIOS!

Please be kind and help me out!
Thanks!

Chrissy

More about : hey lil

May 19, 2007 5:44:54 AM

One way to go about it is a way a lot of us did it, which would be just play around and see what happens. I fondly remember having to do an install of Windows 3.11 because I needed to free up space on the hard drive and deleted a .dll file thinking "Well, it's 0 bytes so it couldn't hurt." :lol: 

Just play around with things and learn where your CMOS jumper is, and you'll be fine.
a c 86 à CPUs
May 19, 2007 6:20:51 AM

Before shutting down the dell for the last time, go through and remove all the drivers you can. Sound drivers, LAN, Video/display, IDE, USB, all of them. Don't reboot, just keep telling it your do that later. Shut it down, and pull the drive.