Gaming on linux

9_breaker

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2011
im new to linux and i know almost nothing about it.i would like to know which distro of linux will support all or most of the new games . it also should have the best in game visuals . ive heard dx11 is coming out for linux but i dont know how to get it , if thats not true then is there an api for linux thats the same or better.

Solution
Very few of the latest commercial games come out for Linux (good reference), and while there's been some of the work done to get DirectX visual interface stuff working on Gallium3D (a graphics engine API wrapper with the goal to unify the interfaces/efforts), refer to this article for some insight as to why it doesn't necessarily mean games are coming to Linux

allen21

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2011
I've install linux OS window in my desktop pc and window 7 in laptop. but i never use my Desktop pc having linux os to play game. As most games are not supporting linux, which i wanna play. That's why i use to play games in my laptop.

bmouring

Distinguished
May 6, 2006
Very few of the latest commercial games come out for Linux (good reference), and while there's been some of the work done to get DirectX visual interface stuff working on Gallium3D (a graphics engine API wrapper with the goal to unify the interfaces/efforts), refer to this article for some insight as to why it doesn't necessarily mean games are coming to Linux

Solution

zoopster

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011

directx is *hopefully* losing mindshare as people open up to the better graphics capabilities of OpenGL. Why, you ask, well...let our friends at Wolfire games explain here.

Basically if you want a good cross platform experience, you want OpenGL.