New build -was thinking Vista -now XP 32-bit or 64-bit?

Bad_Daddy

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2008
Noob here....

My new system components arrive from NEWEGG today and the resulting system will be:

E8500 processor
ASUS P5Q PRO 775 P45 Motherboard
4G Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5 DDR2 800 (2X2G)
Corsair 550 watt PS

These will go along with my existing:
2 X WD 750 GB SATA HD's
2 SATA optical drives (CD/DRV & DVD burner)
NVIDIA 8800GS Video card

I have been running windows XP SP3 and have been happy with it. But I was going to go with Vista on the new bulid (I can get it at a student discount) in order to have a 64-bit OS and have better access to memory. But this week's news has me convinced that I should should stick wiht XP until Windows7 comes out.

I do moderate gaming and lots of multitasking (many open windows, ITunes pumping to my home stereo, etc.)

So, here is are my questions:

-Is windows XP 64-bit even available anymore?
- If so, is it worth it to install the 64-bit version? (will the diferences even be noticable?)
- Any other words of wisdom?

Bad_Daddy

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2008
:sarcastic: I just realized that I already have a copy of XP 64-bit....the CD came with my student version of XP and I never really paid much attention back then.

So, I could use XP64 for absolutely free. (Vista would cost me $80)

Still not sure if I should go with either 64 bit platform.....maybe just hold out for windows7?

br3nd064

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2008
Seriously though, don't install xp x64. I've been using vista x64 for a while now and haven't had any problems with anything, including driver support.

Bad_Daddy

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2008
Thanks for the tips.

From what I have been reading today, for the kind of things I do, the performance payoff for XP64 might be barely noticable and Vista will actually be slower.