Thinkpad T60 running Backtrack 5r1 has no audio

poznos

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2011
A few weeks ago I bought an old IBM Thinkpad T60 (or T60p, I honestly think the only difference may be the "p" in the name o_O). Its memory was fried so I set it up with 4Gb. It had no hard drive so I popped in a 500Gb Seagate. Then it had no operating system so I installed 64-bit GNOME Backtrack 5r1.

I have Windows XP (bleh) on my desktop & have noticed that it is getting old & heading for the grave. I needed a laptop so I found a broken Thinkpad on ebay. I bought it for $40 & got it running w/ a total of about $150. I needed to upgrade from XP and I refused to use Windows 7 (very bleh) so I installed Backtrack. I love it even though I have very little Linux background. <*What!? Backtrack is your 1st Linux distro!? You're in over your head kid!*> Yeah well, things get really boring when they're easy...

So I loaded it up & so far I've had few problems (but still some <*like what?*> I installed vlc media player & it seems to do nothing when I click on it <*that sux. but wait, if your media player won't run how do you know you have no sound?*> good point voice-in-my-head. I was just getting to that...) When I go to the volume option its always set to mute & then below that there's some button -"Sound Properties" I believe- & when I click on that I get an info message that says "Waiting on Sound System to Respond". (<*I read something that said that if the modem was disabled in the T60 it had no sound. Maybe you should go to BIOS and...*> I tried that...three times. Didn't work). The only thing I can get out of the speakers is a beep when I use the buttons on the keyboard to adjust the volume.

So if you, reader-whom-is-probably-a-bit-freaked-out-by-now, have any tips, tricks, suggestions, or "Oh this happened to me and here's how I fixed it..." stories, I would very much appreciate it if you would share some of your all-mighty wisdom with me.

amdfangirl

Expert
Ambassador