Sign in with
Your question

2 ISP's (apartment) view each others network help please

Last response: in Networking
August 9, 2007 8:47:59 PM

HI TH peeps, i have been viewing the forums for a few months now. ok here's my question. a friend and i used to live together. now we moved into an apartment. with us both having a different internet connection is it possible for us to be on the same network or view each others network. i have a dlink 655, forgot what router he has. i didnt want to have to get an access point router. not sure of any other way to get this done and still have the fast speed. any help is much appreciated.
August 10, 2007 8:59:32 AM

Well, I'm not sure of your exact setup, but Yes or Kinda. Can you give more detail as to your setup? It sounds like your buddy has his own router and setup, and you have your 1 computer with nothing else? Is this correct?
August 10, 2007 2:51:09 PM

Well we used all live together so this was cake. Just one network. Now he lives in the first apt building and i live in the third, about 200ft away from each other. I have the dlink with 2 computers and a media center computer in the living room. I am tryin to figured out how to make one network for us all. View all of each others shared files.
Related resources
August 10, 2007 3:47:44 PM

Ok, the best idea I can come up with would be to set up 2 computers as adhoc wireless network. It would get kind of tricky getting it to all work out, but with some creative IP address assigning you should be able to get it to work. The one thing I will note is that if you plan to have 2 DHCP servers at both apartments, the 2 ad-hoc networks will have to me manually configured. Windows XP Internet Connection Sharing should help with that.

I know how I would do it if I was standing there with your scenario, but writing it all out would be quite long, and I'm not sure you'd understand what I was trying to say(but it all works out in my head).