Sign in with
Your question

Isn't Linux supposed to be stable?

Tags:
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
September 15, 2001 9:08:45 AM

First just let me say that I’m a complete newb to Linux. I have used neither Linux nor Unix until a few days ago, and have very little idea of what’s going on.
I’ve been using Windows 98 on my computer for 2 years, and finally got so sick on the bugs and crashes that I installed Windows 2000. Unfortunately, this didn’t help. There were less bugs and crashes, but still quite a few.
So I think to myself, Linux is renowned for it’s stability, surely it wont crash or randomly close programs every half hour.
I went down the street, bought a copy of Linux-Mandrake v7.2, and an hour latter, I was trying it out. Easy.
At first there was no problems, but the more I used it (over the space of three days) the less stable it became. I would do something simple, like copy a document from one folder into another, and it would freeze. I could open and use other programs, but I couldn’t use or even close the frozen program.
Then it stopped booting directly into the default user, and booted to the log on screen instead. A little while later it stopped loading even the log on screen.
What’s going on? Why is it doing this? Did I do something horrible in a former life, that has doomed my to an eternity to buggy operating systems?

Just in case you would like to try and help my out with this, my system specs are as follows:

CPU - Pentium 111 550, 100Mhz FSB
Motherboard - AOpen AX6BC
Chipset – Intel 440BX AGP
Old Hard drive – Seagate 17.2GB ST317221A with Linux-Mandrake 7.2 installed
New Hard Drive – Seagate 20GB ST320011A with Windows 2000 installed
Graphics card – Asus V6600 GeForce 256
DVDROM – Sony DDU220E
CD RW – Sony CRX140E
Standard Floppy disk drive
Modem – LT Win Modem (doesn’t work with Linux and I don’t expect it too)
Network card – 10/100 Realtek RTL8029(AS)-based PCI Ethernet Adapter
Sound card – Creative AudioPCI (ES1371,ES1373)(WDM)