How Much memory should vista use when your not running anything?

Status
Not open for further replies.

link_419

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2008
hello, im a noob and i tried looking for an answer to my question before i posted it. Ill be honest i didnt search to WHOLE thing but im limited with time right now so might have already been answered. anyway this is my situation i just got a new laptop and its a :

-HP Pavilion dv5 -1138nr Laptop ( i got it pretty cheap brand new for $600)
-Windows vista home premium 64-Bit
-Intel Core 2 Duo
-4GB installed out of 8GB possible
-processor speed 2GHz

alright so those are the specs and ive been trying to optimize the computer myself by getting rid of junk programs that i dont need. So ive done what i could so far with out getting rid of things that wont mess up my pc. I also disabled the windows side bar as well. So...when im not running anything and when the computer is just running by itself it is using 1.30 GB of memory. My question was is it supposed to be using less memory then that when im not running anything. Or What is the average memory usage you guys have been running for those of you with mabey the same conditions as my pc, can i get it down any lower with out messing with vista itself anymore? I have a buddy that said he got his running at supposably 400MB. Is that possible with vista????? i mean the recomended requirements say that you need 1GB to run right? well any good feed back would be well appreciated. This is my first time optimizing my own computer so im in need of help. Thank you.

Solution