Finally building a new computer...

zeboim

Distinguished
May 22, 2007
Well, this is my first time posting here but you guys certainly seem to know your stuff, so if you don't mind I'd like a bit of advice. I've built a computer before, but it was almost 5 years ago, and now it has finally died and needs to be replaced. The problem is that during those 5 years I completely stopped paying attention to PC Hardware. So now I'm trying to take a crash course and get back into the groove, but things have changed quite a bit.

Basically, what I'm going for is the ability to upgrade it as necessary in the future, such as going SLI when it finally begins to slump in a while, 2 more gigs of RAM, HDs, etc. I also plan to overclock quite a bit.

ENERMAX Chakra ECA3052B Black SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814130080
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply - Retail
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK - Retail
EVGA 122-CK-NF67-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6420 - Retail
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

TOTAL: $1,233.93