Tim Z

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2008
Hello . . . this is my first post at these forums. So I will first give a small explanation of my PC uses.

I am professional photographer who uses my main boot for general email and internet use, as well as intensive image processing with Photoshop CS3. I am also a musician who records my own music as well as other artists on a finely tweaked second XP boot for recording only (i.e. no internet, antivirus, updates, etc.).

I recently built a brand new PC with these components:

CPU = Intel E8400
Mobo = ASUS P5Q Pro ATX LGA775
RAM = Mushkin Ascent PC2-6400 4GB
Vid Card = BFG GeForce 9500GT 550MHZ 1GB

I have one Seagate 500 GB drive partitioned into two 50 gig partions and the remainder as a data drive. I have a second Samsung 1TB drive for my recording and image files. All files are backed up in triplicate to other external drives. I will soon be getting two more 1TB drives.

So I completed the PC build and installed XP and all of my software into the main boot C: All was setup and working perfectly, but when I tried to install the second boot to my second 50 gig partition D: the whole setup got destroyed. I could not boot into my C: XP and had no choice but to start all over from scratch (about 12 hours of work). I now have my C: boot all setup and working perfectly, but am afraid to start to second XP setup on D: for fear that the same will happen again.

I have done a dual XP boot four years ago, and it was working perfectly for the whole four years. I thought I did everything the same this time, but apparently not.