Sign in with
Your question

INQ: AMD releases more (Bull****) Barcelona "benches"

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
a b à CPUs
May 22, 2007 11:14:01 AM

And we are supposed to be able to see whats on those monitors...?
May 22, 2007 11:14:34 AM

As you can clearly see from this picture with no support facts, evidence, details, or even really knowing what the benchmark was, Barcelona is 5,000,000% faster. Intel BK 2Q 2008.
Related resources
May 22, 2007 11:14:55 AM

I love how they claim "It will blow away Clovertown," but then don't reveal any frequencies or compare it against Clovertown.

:lol: 
May 22, 2007 11:19:03 AM

Quote:
Not being a POV expert, I can't say how it scales, or really relate this to much. As an exercise for our readership, can someone work this backwards and tell me about what the clocks here are?

I ran this through the Alta Vista BabelFish translator, set to translate BullShitt to english. This is what it gave back:

Quote:
Not having a clue how computers or benchmarks work, I can't say what this means or how it relates to anything. As Im too lazy, could one of the 18 people who read my blog figure this out for me?
May 22, 2007 12:01:16 PM

Task manager shows 8 cores on the left, 16 cores on the right. The rendered scene looks like the standard POVray benchmark which has predefined default settings.

If what Charlie says is true, 8 Opteron cores hit 2200 px/s and 16 Barcelona cores hit >4000 px/s. Both are 4-socket configurations, so the Opteron clocks are probably higher.

For reference, a single Merom core at 3.0 GHz using one channel of DDR2 hits about 520 px/s, but scaling is not quite linear, not to mention (1) Clovertown uses slower FB-DIMMs and (2) a 4S configuration for Clovertown may require separate nodes and thus utilize NUMA with further potential slowdown.