How to Partition Hard Drive and Install / Dual Boot Windows 7?

belliot2

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Hi,

I just built a new computer yesterday and installed Ubuntu on it. I now want to partition the hard drive so I can run either Ubuntu or Windows 7 on it. My hard drive is 1TB so space isn't really an issue as this is a brand new computer. I'm a computer science major and I can get Windows 7 (download, not the disc) for free thanks to the college.

I've never used a dual-boot before so I want to make sure I get this right. Can anyone instruct me on how to go about this??

Thanks

chamaecyparis

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
Redundant thread OP can google.

However, suggest begin by downloading and burning SystemRescueCD at 8-10X maximum

Use it to wipe hdd clean of anything; partition a small portion (say 300GB) for Win7; format this to say, FAT32; install Win7.

Use gparted (within the ssysresccd) optionally to create two more partitions (i.e. one 16-20GB Primary for / and a very large Extended partition of which use only about half for a /home and a swap; saving Unallocated both within and without the Extended for another future distro, as desired optionally)

Install linux ; GRUB to /

chamaecyparis

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010

skittle,
it's obvious you are a Win7 user first and have never used a Slackware distro.-- your answers are simplistic t a fault.

do not question my helpfulness :fou:

rjq

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2011

Just remember installing win7 first >AND on the first partition<, once installed you can make some partitions within win7, install Ubuntu afterwards and the boot loader will take care of booting both OSes, otherwise win7 will wipe out GRUB and you would have to do an extra step to restore it (fairly easy any way) it just seams cleaner doing it this way. If you have Ubuntu already in the first partition it will not do, I would recommend start from zero.

Didn't you hear? slackware is so 1990's...