Mandrake support ?...ya...right !

NialM

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2001
I am a Linux newbie (only got 2 weeks of anger built up so far !)
I have been wanting to try an alternative to windoze for some time now. Then WinXP, or should I say LoseXP, came along with its security etc and that did it for me !

I down loaded the 2 free Mandrake 8.0 iso and burned them and installed them on a new 20 gig HD. The install went fine, I got a GUI on boot and was able to connect to the internet (cable) thru my Realtek RTL8029.

THEN.....
I could not get my D-Link 538TX to work for internet sharing. It is listed as "other divices" under HardDrake. It was however detected during Mandrake install and given the right driver (8139too). I messed with it for a few days and tried a few suggestions from this community and elsewhere on the net ie changing PCI slots, BIOS PNP changes etc. Nothing would work.

THEN....
I decided to buy the full package as my work would reimburse me for it and that way I would get 30 days of online and phone support from Mandrake. I wiped out the partions and started from scratch. Again everything when well, cards identified and net conection worked, again not LAN.

Went for support and filled in all that I had tried, and that netconf would hang if I tried to change any settings on the 538TX. I also mentioned that the card is listed as supported on there page. While waiting for a response from them I thought I would try their phone support...um...where is the number ? The only reference to phone support on the page is that I am entitled to it ! Off goes another email to Mandake support with my regid and customer info., explaining my problem and asking for the phone number....no response.

Back to the support page where I filled in my original "incident Report" and WOW....a response ! I open the link and read.....

13/09
02:40 alans Reply received Nial....Hi! As root in a console type:

netconf

This'll bring up a utility that should take care of it. :)
--