Coolermaster 430W PSU good enough for my upgrade?

Hey guys!

I have a Coolermaster RS-430-PMSR 430W PSU.

Link from newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171007

I am thinking of doing an upgrade to my system, a fairly cheap upgrade to:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz Socket 939 Processor
ASUS A8V-XE Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard
Corsair 2GB DDR2-675 XMS2-5400 Xtreme Performance Memory
using a
ATI X1900GT or a X1950GT Video card

will my current PSU work fine for these? I use everything at stock, I dont overclock. I've been browsing the forums trying to find somebody with a similiar setup to see what kind of PSU they use but couldnt find a for sure answer.

Thank you for the help! :D
13 answers Last reply
More about coolermaster 430w good upgrade
  1. awesome, thank you for your help! :D

when you mean combined +12V rails, you mean the +12V1 and +12V2, add the amps below them together to equal the amp I need?

such as for one example, one of your PSU listed has a 22A under the +12V1 and a 20A under the +12V2... add the 22 and 20 together and tada! higher then what you said I need?

:D
  2. No, those ratings are just the total amount of power that rail can handle without failing. Adding 'em up won't get you anywhere. The PSU 101-102 sticky at the top of this section explains how to calculate amperage.
  3. Get this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104954

Or if you have more money this is an excellent psu (sorry for the bias, I own one :) ):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817139001
  4. thanks for the replies guys.

some more noob questions. :D

i saw the equation to calculate amps, W/V=A... i checked out the ref list and did some calculations to see if Im using the right numbers and it seems like I am... so I took this equation and popped it into my current PSU and I got 32A... im doing something wrong arent i.. :cry: 385 / 12