How to install a driver manually in Ubuntu?

BES

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2007
I am a newbie with this OS, could someone please explain to me how to get a driver installed and working?

The network card I have is a Realtek RTL8111E onboard, for some reason I don't think Ubuntu detected the card properly since it tries to connect..then goes offline ...

#1: I don't know how to "see" a hardware list to see whats working ...

#2: I don't know how to open a "terminal"

#3: I have the new linux driver from the Realtek website already...

#4: The Ubuntu Install is a standard 30gig ...I installed it using Wubi through Windows 7..

#5: If it helps, these are the specs of my system:

CPU - AMD FX-8150
Motherboard - GA-990FXA-UD5 (F7N Beta Bios)
RAM - 12Gigs DDR3 1600Mhz
Graphics - Crossfire HD6950's

#6: I also don't know how to install Catalyst 12.3 Linux drivers ... that's a file with ".run" at the end but it still does nothing when trying to open it..

That particular NIC can be a pain. Have a look at: http://unixblogger.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/the-pain-of-an-realtek-rtl8111rtl8168-ethernet-card/

As for your other install problem, you do need to open a terminal; have a look at: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsingTheTerminal (Google is pretty good at finding these things.) Then try changing to the directory containing the file (use the "cd" command) and typing:

sudo sh ./filename.run

(substitute the appropriate filename).

This sort of stuff is documented in the official Ubuntu documentation. Read it!

BES

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2007

Thanks for the help..ill check that stuff out ... I did a search but wasn't sure if I had the right info, so I wanted to ask here...

Linux is getting better, but it still seems to be a bit of work ...especially to get the drivers going, thanks again