jake858

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2007
Greetings,

This is my first time posting here and I hope I found the right thread.

Earlyer this afternoon my wifes computer lost its net connection. We arent sure when, she sat down to read a book and when she came back her connection was gone.

First of all our setup. Its not great, we have our cable modem connected to a hub and than to each of our computers. To make things easyer I switched to a direct connection to troubleshoot. Her system is windows XP home SP2, basicly she is getting limited or no connectivity message. When we try to renew her IP via command it says unable to contact DHCP server.

I went out and purchaced a new network card but have had the same issue. The tech at our ISP walked me through a few things. Winsock cataloge, swapped out cords. Powercycled the modem and her system. All the basics.

Anyway, at this point im completely stuck. Her computer is clean of virus' and she is running the win firewall. Nothing major happened that would have changed the state of her system yet its suddenly not working. I also ran the patch from microsoft related to SP2 and having limited or no connectivity, longshot at best which didnt work.

Any advice or information people have to offer would be of great help.

Thanks,
Jake

El0him

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
Well first off, do you have a hub or a consumer switch/router, i.e. netgear, d-link, etc...etc....

If you truely have a hub, than it could be that your ISP is limiting how many CPE devices you have behind your cable modem. This could have happen while wife is reading as all they need to do is reboot the cable modem with a new docsis configuration file. Try putting in a consumer switch with NAT capabilities.

How many computers do you have and do they have internet access?

jake858

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2007