Allocate unused RAM for 780g video memory

Status
Not open for further replies.

zackcentury

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2009
Hi, I'm new to Tom's and computer building, but I'm going to be building a new system soon anyway. I'm using an AMD 5200+, 4gb ram, and a Gigabyte 780g mobo, either GA-MA78g ds3hp or one of the sh2 models, and running Vista 32bit. I understand Vista can only make use of about 3.5gb of ram. And according to this article, http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-780g-chipset,1785-2.html
The motherboard's BIOS lets you borrow 128, 256 or 512 MB of RAM from the system's RAM, to allocate it as video memory to the integrated GPU. For the first time ever, AMD is also equipping its integrated graphics chip with a separate memory interface. This allows motherboard makers and OEMs to provide dedicated graphics memory for the integrated chip directly on the board, if they find the GPU's performance unsatisfactory, or don't wish to use a shared-memory solution. In effect, this transforms the integrated on-chip graphics solution into a dedicated graphics card that just happens to reside in the northbridge.
the BIOS in Gigabyte boards allows you to allocate 128, 256, or 512mb of system memory for the on board video. Two questions:

Will this memory be shared with the 3.5 or so that Vista uses, or is it possible that the memory will be the unused portion of the 4gb?

And does anyone know if this feature is common in all Gigabyte 780g boards?

thanks

Solution
Memory mapped I/O, is memory mapped I/O, is memory Mapped I/O.