WDS,UBCD & Syslinux ... bit misplaced and perhaps too hardcore!

neiroatopelcc

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2006
Hello. The other day I stumbled upon syslinux as a solution to install centos on a server using our windows 2003 wds server. I didn't quite get the menu to work, but I'm in no rush with that anyway. However the syslinux documentation did say that it could boot most anything. Just point to a partition, a boot sector, a initrd and vmlinuz set, or let it start the regular wds boot image ....
I only managed to make the last part work, but that said I did have other things to do that day.

Anyway, I was thinking. Would it be possible to boot one of the floppy images contained on the ultimate boot cd version 4.11?
I'm rather new to this particular thing (syslinux), so I'm not really sure how I'd even test it. But a quick search on google shows that it appearently hasn't been done yet.

Is anyone here nerdy enough to know if, and how, it would work?

I've got a dl180 with a 900gb partition to store wim images, and I've added an annonymous ftp to the server roles and dropped a bunch of linux distros in there (because that's what I initially intended to use)
The rig is running windows 2008 standard by the way.

I used the guide below to get syslinux itself working - worked fine. I'm just too stupid to make the x86.conf file working properly (entries won't execute)
http://www.ohjeah.net/2008/09/24/pxe-and-kickstart-automated-installations-for-linux-via-wds/

neiroatopelcc

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2006
Actually I've just made it work! It's patheticly simple!
I just opened the iso with isobuster and extracted the lot. Could've used winrar or 7zip for that matter.