Question about Linux, Ubuntu, Fedora.

xBUNx

Honorable
Mar 5, 2012
So I am thinking about getting an OS like the ones I stated above but I need to know if some things will work on it.
-Will I be able to run Microsoft office on any of them?
-Can I use other files from other windows 7 computers?
-Can I bring my Itunes to any of the above OSs?
- And finally would I be able to put skype on them?

I am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff so any information would be very helpful, thank you!

wombat_tg

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2010

1) You have 2 choices: a) Install Libre Office or b) Install WINE and install MS Office and run under WINE. In all but a few very specific scenarios (ime) Libre Office is totally equal to MS Office.

2) Yes.

3) You would install it under WINE or you could choose another option to manage your music, like Banshee or Amarok.

4) Yes, there is a native client for Linux

c911darkwolf

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2011
Libraoffice or GoogleDocs are good alternatives

As Wombat said you can run many applications through a linux Emulator called WINE ( follow a few instructions to install software with wine)
http://appdb.winehq.org/
Simple go here and look up the application, it is rated on how well it runs and gives install instructions.

Another one that is simplier to use and is based on wine is PLAYONLINUX although it has a smaller list of applications you can install they are single click installs.

Terminology:
Ubuntu and Fedora are both Linux OS's

Ubuntu is better for gaming and better support for more apps

Fedora has more cutting edge technology (I use Fedora 17, but i don't game on it, have a dual boot with windows 7 for gaming)

If you want to dual boot let us know.

Both Ubuntu (and based on ubuntu) & Fedora OS's are very popular and you can find a lot of support. Ubuntu may be a bit more user friendly to start.